Fixing up the Red Poppies watercolor

I have a small file cabinet where I keep my watercolors organized.  Looking through it the other day, I discovered an incomplete watercolor landscape of red poppies from 5 years ago that I filed away:
IMG_4656

I liked what I started, but it just needed some extra work to make it complete.  To improve it, I softened the hard edge where the poppy field meets the sky:
IMG_4657

I added the rest of the poppies.
IMG_4661

When I didn’t see anything else to change, I signed it using a dip pen loaded with the same turquoise colored paint I used to paint the poppy stems.
IMG_3770 IMG_3772

I like signing my watercolors with watercolor paint now instead of using a sketching pencil because the pencil always seemed a little out of place.
IMG_4663

To flatten the watercolor painting, I tried to take a shortcut by steam ironing it. It flattened it, but it was warped at the edges so I ended up having to flatten it the traditional way with the board and gummed paper tape which worked very well!

Since I stink at painting in a straight line, the borders of the watercolor were pretty skewed. I used the poppy field horizon line as an anchor to level the painting and then drew guidelines to trim the painting down so that it can easily be framed in the future:
IMG_4691

The finished watercolor which is now listed on Etsy:
red_poppies
Painted using Windsor blue, permanent rose, cadmium yellow and burnt sienna on 140 pound coldpressed paper.

Author: jasmineray

I love drawing and painting watercolors. My illustrations were featured in my mother’s cookbook カリフォルニアばあさんの料理帖 which was published in Japan. I am always trying to improve by experimenting and learning new techniques.

8 thoughts on “Fixing up the Red Poppies watercolor”

  1. Hey Jasmine, I wasn’t sure how to contact you but it seems like you are still active on here so I’ll give it a shot. My name is Brendan and I have my own photography business and was trying to look at art to add to a document I am writing up and I came across this painting you did in ’09 http://photo.foter.com/photos/pi/275/three-koi-by-jasmine-ray-something-like-this-on-the-right-batik-fabric-embroider-fish-maybe-salmon-1.jpg
    I was wondering if you would mind if I used it or not? Being a fellow artist I know I would hate to post something and not get credit for it. Hopefully you get this message and respond. Thank you.

    1. Hi Brendan! Sure, that would be fine with me and I would be honored if you used the koi artwork for your document. Thank you for asking by the way :)

Leave a comment